Get into the Guinness Book of World Records

One of the Things to Do before you die that I actually made sure I went out of my way to do was “Get into the Guinness Book of World Records.”

It just so happened that not terribly long after I purchased the book, Firefox was trying to set a world record for most downloads in a 24 hour period. Given I had used FF before and I hated IE with the burning passion of a thousand suns, I was more than happy to download Firefox in the period to check it off my list!

As I recall the server was hit pretty hard that day. I wonder why. 🙂

Per the Guinness world records website : “The most downloads for a single piece of software in 24 hours is 8,002,530 for Mozilla’s Firefox 3.0 between 17-18 June 2008. This ‘Download Day’ marked the launch of the new version of the Firefox web browser.”

Somewhere I even have the paper proving I was one of the people who did it! This was probably the easiest thing to check off!

Did anyone else ever do something just to check it off the list? In the off-chance you are Ashrita Furman, in which case I know the answer, what would you tackle next?

Completed: 2008

Categories: Achievement | Tags: , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

