Leave a Job You Hate

I just moved a scheduled post to make room for this one as this just happened.

One of the “Things to do before you die” was leave a job you hate. I’ve had a lot of jobs that I’ve not been in love with, but I have a high tolerance for stupid people and bullshit so I continued to be a part of them until I just stopped getting work. I once even had a psychologist inform me that I had more patience than he did (and that was patience and not patients!) which is true. With all that in mind, I never quit a job. Never. Until yesterday.

Now if you know me, you know I am a mostly Shabbat observant Jew. That means I do not generally work on Shabbat (Saturday) although if someone is in desperate need and it must be done on Saturday, I will come through for them if they are going to be in financial stress. With that in mind, I was asked if I could come through for a friend a few months ago. He knew he was going to have a conflict and I was more than willing to help at the time. I was about 50 miles from where I would have to be every day and provided I made about $30 a day (I charge $5/hr time in car plus gas), I could break even on everything. However, I then moved 150 miles from the site and I was still under a vow (we Jew take Oaths and Vows very seriously) to keep my promise even though now my cost in gas alone was $30, my time in car driving would have been at least $30 (closer to $40) or get a hotel room ($60) plus pet sitting ($20), would have made $100 a day more reasonable. Knowing this the manager of the booth who lived much closer to site, said I could stay with him and bring my dog, however he knew I had to do other things to do and to use my computer.

I continued to look for more work which did not work out. Had a baby sitting job which was cancelled last minute. Found one bit of breaking work, which should have been fine only under ideal situations.

Unfortunately, I get to his house on Friday, help him clean, get yelled at several times while his dogs attacked mine. At that point, my partner already said I needed to quit but I was determined to see it through the night. I get kept awake by his roommate until 1 am (TV shut off at 12:52). Between the noise, the ice cold (no blankets), and the dog pee scent from his dogs, I ended up watching the clock until 6 am at which time I let my dog out which stirred up the other dogs. I was then yelled at for letting my dog out. I almost quit right there.

But I go to site, helped set up. Was forced to work full time on no sleep and was being yelled at that I was looked bored and was tired, went to break the other person, came back and continued to be yelled at. My religion was ripped on once when I was purposefully not dressed as an observant Jew and my being transsexual was also made fun of. No.

When I was told we had to get there 8:30 every morning (2 hours before opening), I said “Nope, no, no.” Then he said well I could come closer to cannon and drive myself (which I cannot afford the gas) and I just continued saying nope and told him it was for all of it. I said I didn’t deserve that, plus the lack of sleep, plus how my dog was treated and that it was the last straw. I took the rest of my stuff and turned in my pass, that is just affecting my health at this point. He was apologizing to me that it didn’t work out. I’m sorry, this could have worked out if I was treated better. I am a 33 year old man, not a 16 year old child. I do not need to stand for any form of abuse and I never did get paid for any of it even my one day.

That saddest thing is, this was my last straw doing work of this type. There is no way on G-d’s green earth I am doing this again. Nope, not a one and I have been doing these type of festivals for 20 years. I’m retired, I haven’t gotten any pleasure in it in years.

What is the worst job you’ve had and how did you quit it? I almost wish I were more epic, but at a point, I don’e even feel sad about it.

Completed : 2015

Categories: Recklessness | Tags: , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

