Get Backstage and Get Off with a Rock God

One of the things to do was to “Get backstage and get off with a rock god” which they are probably referring to screaming girls trying to hook up with the equivalent of Elvis for a one-nighter or to become a groupie.  That is somewhat different than what happens if you are a backstager where you actually have relevant long lasting relationships with the talent.

There are two parts of this.  Part one, get backstage.  Part two, sleep with a rocker.

Quite frankly, I have always found it easy to get backstage, but then with both parents in the media and then my 20 year history in theater, it’s common to be backstage.  In fact, there are times I wonder if I have spent more time backstage than watching from the audience.  I don’t understand what the obsession is with going backstage in fact it can take away some of the magic when you realize how much work goes on to put on the show.

Then there is the second part, actually one of my boyfriends was in a rock band.  He was 18 years my senior and I was 16.  I met him when I was working for the Florida Renaissance Festival as a stage manager, he was part of my favourite act and since we were in close proximity all the time, we started to date.  He was a local and was also in a rock band as the singer.  We dated for 8 months so I am sure one can imagine what went on.

Have you ever been a groupie?  Who?  Or have you ever had a desire to go backstage and perhaps you can explain the fascination with it?

Completed : 1998

Categories: Entertainment | Tags: , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

